Connect with us

The Marist Institute for Public Opinion

MIPO

The Marist Institute for Public Opinion

The Marist Institute for Public Opinion (MIPO) is a survey research center at Marist College in Poughkeepsie, New York. Founded in 1978, MIPO is home to the Marist Poll and regularly measures public opinion at the local, state, and national level. The Marist Poll is highly respected and is often cited by journalists and analysts around the globe.

Marist isn’t your grandfather’s polling institute. Surveys run the gamut. Topics include politics, money, family, spirituality, mind and body, sports, entertainment, and much more!

The Marist Poll is unique. It was the first college-based survey center in the nation to involve undergraduates in conducting survey research. It’s been over 30 years and still counting. Students participate in each and every survey conducted. Their experiences allow them to weave political science, computing, communications, marketing, and psychology into an interdisciplinary learning experience. Student employment, internships, conferences, and seminars with leading journalists, pollsters and government officials can all be found at MIPO!

Print Friendly
22 Comments

22 Comments

  1. Pingback: Poll: Most Americans have low expectations of incoming first lady Melania Trump | NigerianTell

  2. Olivia

    October 6, 2016 at 10:17 am

    Do you weigh the polls in any way and how do you obtain the sample?

  3. Ward Canfield

    July 20, 2016 at 9:08 am

    No poll should be taken seriously as raw percents only. To mean anything serious polls should mention methodology in taking the poll and include confidence intervals, margins of error. There are any number of biases that could be there, otherwise, and that is why raw percentages by themselves are virtually worthless. This includes the recent “poll” of 51% approval of Obama. This is so unlikely in a true random sample of sufficient size and an honest margin of error.

    So many people are gullible by these raw percentage claims.

  4. T Scott

    April 7, 2016 at 9:25 pm

    I answered a political poll on April 7, 2016, about presidential and Senate primary and Nov elections as well as president and MD gov performances. Many questions are poorly designed allowing only either a yes-no possibility and others not allowing a “don’t know” or “ambivalent” answer. Also the sequential order of questions is poor. The subjects of the questions do not follow a logical flow from one subject to another. If I am asked to do another poll, I will refuse to answer some questions that don’t allow realistic array of anwers.

  5. Rachel moler

    September 7, 2015 at 7:48 am

    I have never met anyone who has been polled, and not sure how they come up with these results that they report on the news about percentages in the presidential race. I live right between Baltimore and Washingon DC so I’m not in the middle of nowhere.

  6. Paul Reid

    December 23, 2013 at 10:56 am

    The most annoying word should have been “so” which is now used as the framing first word in response to any question one can imagine. It is the new “Hey “

  7. wayne nelson

    December 20, 2013 at 11:13 pm

    for the most annoying poll, how about “Seriously?” or “Really?”

  8. Alicia Buhse

    October 8, 2013 at 5:14 pm

  9. Stephanie

    October 1, 2013 at 3:19 pm

    I was wondering how the NCAA sports poll conducted from Mar. 4-7, 2013, was conducted. By phone (RDD) or was it an online survey?

  10. Marie Sorrentino

    May 6, 2013 at 2:01 pm

    Have you conducted a poll to determine who is favored in the 2013 Westchester County Executive race?

    Marie

  11. Denis Faubert

    April 3, 2013 at 8:32 am

    As a political science major and graduate from FSU, I find your poll regarding 60% of Americans want stricter gun control, including bans on so called assault weapons very, very, hard to believe. Just days and weeks before polls where waning to around 47% and never was any poll showing 60% of Americans wished to ban so called assault weapons? Absolutely amazing? How did you poll, who did you poll (i.e liberal democrats, or republicans) what states did you poll, what gender did you poll? I leave you with the following quotes to ponder….:

    “Think of the press as a great keyboard on which the government can play.”
    ― Joseph Goebbels
    and;
    “The bigger the lie, the more people will believe it.”
    ― Joseph Goebbels,

  12. Pingback: Public Opinion Polls (Aired on November 2, 2012) : RadioRotary

  13. Judy Zemien

    December 23, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    Saw the list of most annoying words—I would think that amazing and awesome should also be on it –Also probably they have become the most overused—-

  14. Pingback: Happy July 4th: What America Doesn't Know About Its History...RedRanting.com

  15. Mary Azzoli

    June 10, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    @Michael… We interviewed 512 randomly selected adult residents within Congressman’s Weiner’s entire district. Using an RDD (random digit dial) methodoly, phone numbers from telephone exchanges in New York’s 9th Congressional District were generated by a computer. So, it’s only by chance that you were not called…you and all of your fellow district constituents were in the pool of people to possibly be contacted. You can read more about the study’s methodology here:
    http://maristpoll.marist.edu/wp-content/misc/nycpolls/c110608/Congressman%20Anthony%20Weiner/Nature%20of%20the%20Sample_RV.pdf.

  16. Michael Honan

    June 10, 2011 at 8:28 am

    In reading the papers concerning the Marist Poll results for Anthony Weiner, I was wondering how many people were actually polled. My community, Rockaway Park, is part of the Congressman`s district and I do not know of any of my neighbors or my family that were contacted for the poll. If the poll was limited to the small demographics of Kew Gardens, the results are definitely skewed.

  17. Edie Nardecchia

    August 16, 2010 at 10:29 am

    Lee/ Barb – How does one get a hold of you these days? You have this new flashy website. The next generation of Nardecchias is applying to Marist and i was hoping to pick your brain on who my fabulous niece should talk to!

    Hugs and kisses,

    Edie the funniest student you ever had (that better still be standing :))

  18. Pingback: The Dumbest 26% in America « The Hoosier Slant

  19. Rhea Kelley

    February 9, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    Where can we find out who you surveyed for a particular poll, how many, and criteria. As Mark Twain said, “there are three kind of lies; lies, damn lies, and statistics. If you are going to print derogatory poll results, show us the numbers.

  20. alan luoto

    October 8, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    Concerning your “most annoying” poll – I can’t imagine why “on the ground” didn’t take the grand prize…? All forms of media, media spokespersons, politicians and political hacks have adopted this phrase for interviews, in order to appear informed, current, and intelligent. It was originated by military PR to represent the actual number of troops “on the ground” in a combat zone, it is now used to refer to anyone, in any position, anywhere, for any purpose. Whatever……

  21. Pingback: No Recovery in Paterson’s Poll Numbers - City Room Blog - NYTimes.com

  22. Larry Williams

    April 22, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    the knights of columbus has published a poll in connecticut attempting to show overwhelming support for a “religious liberty exemption” to the same-sex marriage law. you did the poll, and you should be ashamed of yourselves. i’m not surprised there’s no mention of this contract hit job on your college website. the questions were designed to get the answers the K of C wanted. the thing was no better than a fake “push poll” used by sleazy political candidates. i thought marist prided itself on independence and high standards. obviously not.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in MIPO

To Top